PEDO

South Carolina Retirement
System at a glance

Refer to the South Carolina RetirementSystem
Member Handbook, found at www.peba sc.gov, for
detailed information and when makmg retirement

plan decisions.
Benefits

*  Monthly retirement benefit is based on
a formula (1.82 percent of average final
compensation multiplied by years of service),
not on a member’'s account balance at
retirement.

+ Current state law provides for an annual
benefit adjustment of 1 percent of your annual
benefit up to a maximum of $500 per year.

*  Monthly retirement benefit is payable for the
member’s life,

«  Service purchase options.

+ Disability protection eligibility is tied to the
receipt of disability benefits from the Social
Security Administration.

+ Incidental death benefit if provided by your
employer.

Membership eligibility

+ To be a member of SCRS, you must be
employed by and receiving compensation from
an employer that participates in the system.

+ You accrue service credit in SCRS so long as

you are not retired and are making regular
contributions to SCRS from compensation
received from your employment with a
participating employer.

Contributions

* You contribute a tax-deferred 9 percent of
gross pay.
* Your account earns 4 percent interest

compounded annually until you retire or your
account becomes inactive.

= An account is considered inactive when not
contributions have been made to the account
in the preceding fiscal year and no other
active, correlated system or State Optional
Retirement Program account exists.

Service purchase

*  Members may be eligible to purchase various
types of service credit, such as military service,
public service, educational service and non-
qualified service at an actuarially-based cost.

* Members may also be eligible to purchase
credit for previously withdrawn SCRS service
or service transferred from a correlated
retirement system.

Incidental death benefit

+ After one year of service, beneficiaries of
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active members and working retirees who
die in service receive a payment equal to one
year's gross salary

If death is a result of a job-related injury, the

one-year requirement is waived.

A beneficiary of a non-working retiree may
be eligible for a benefit of $2,000, $4,000 or
$6,000 based on the retiree’s years of service.

Check with your employer to see if it provides
this coverage.

Leaving before retirement

If you terminate employment, you may either:

Request a refund of your contributions
and interest, subject to taxes and possible
penalties if you are under age 59 % and do
not rollover into an eligible plan; or

Leave your money in SCRS where it will

earn an annual 4 percent interest until your
account becomes inactive. If you have the
earned service necessary for a monthly
retirement benefit and leave your funds on
deposit, you can receive the benefit once you
reach age eligibility.

Retirement eligibility

Class Two members
(membership effective prior to July 1, 2012)

You can retire and receive an unreduced
monthly retirement benefit after 28 years of
service or at age 65 or older.

You can retire early, at age 60, or at age
55 with 25 years of service, and receive a
reduced monthly retirement benefit.

You must have at least five years of earned
service to receive a benefit.

If you are eligible for SCRS service retirement,
you may elect to participate in the Teacher
and Employee Retention Incentive (TERI

program which allows you to retire and
begin accumulating your monthly benefit
on a deferred basis without ending your
employment.

The TERI program ends June 30, 2018.

You must apply to participate in the TERI
program; it is not automatic.

Class Three members

(membership effective on or after july 1, 2012)

You can retire and receive an unreduced
monthly retirement benefit once your age and
years of service total 90, or at age 65 or older.

For example, if you begin covered service at
age 22 and work continuously for a covered
employer, you would be eligible for service
retirement once you reach 56 years of age
and have 34 years of service credit.

You can retire early at age 60 and receive a
reduced monthly retirement benefit.

You must have at least eight years of earned
service to receive a benefit.

The TERI program is not available to Class
Three members.

Payment options

Three payment options for monthly
retirement benefits are available at
retirement.

Two of the three options provide survivor
protection.

You select the payment option that best suits
your needs.

Learn more

Contact your human resources office.
Go to www.peba.sc.gov or contact PEBA by
phone at 803.737.6800 or 888.260.9430.

Visit PEBA, with or without an appointment, at
202 Arbor Lake Drive, Columbia, SC 29223.

This document does not constitute a comprehensive or binding representation regarding the employee benefits offered by the South Carolina
Public Employee Benefit Authority (PEBA). The terms and conditions of the retirement benefit plans offered by PEBA are set out in the applicable
statutes and are subject to change. Please contact PEBA for the most current information. The language used in this document does not create
any contractual rights or entitlements for any person.



