FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 18, 2010
LEARN TO BURN
Prescribed Burning Certification Class Offered by the South Carolina Forestry Commission
(Columbia, SC) Property owners and land managers who conduct outdoor burning can reduce their liability by becoming Certified Prescribed Fire Managers. Training sessions with the South Carolina Forestry Commission are scheduled and registration is easy.
The dates and locations for the CPFM class are:
- October 20, 2010 in Columbia
- December 14, 2010 in Moncks Corner
- January 22, 2011 in Columbia
Taught by foresters with extensive burning experience, this one-day course teaches how to plan prescribed burns that comply with state air quality regulations. Those regulations, called Smoke Management Guidelines, are mandatory for all forestry, wildlife, and agriculture burning in South Carolina.
Forestry Commission Training Director Leslie Woodham emphasizes that this is not a beginner’s course in prescribed burning. “This is advanced training in smoke management and associated legal issues,” Woodham says.
Achieving certification provides burners with limited liability protection under state law. Requirements include passing a written test, documenting one’s burning experience, and agreeing to conduct all burning according to standards set forth in the SC Prescribed Fire Act.
To register for any session, contact Leslie Woodham at (803) 896-8809. The cost of the course is only $50.00. Applications are processed on a first come, first served basis. The deadline for registration is three weeks prior to the course. This year, registration forms are available online at www.trees.sc.gov under the “Events” link.
# # #
Editors: For more information, contact: Leslie Woodham, 803-896-8809.
The SC Forestry Commission’s mission is to protect and develop South Carolina’s forest resource. For every $1.00 invested by SC in the Commission, the industry produces about $1,300.00 of economic impact.