Image urging citizens to vote

State Election Commission Voting Systems Used


All 46 South Carolina counties use direct recording electronic voting machines.The voter makes his/her selections by pressing a button beside a party, candidate or issue displayed on the direct recording electronic (DRE) voting machine. After all selections have been made, the voter presses a VOTE button to cast his/her ballot.

The counties that use Electronic:
Aiken Chester Florence Lee Saluda
Abbeville Chesterfield Georgetown Lexington Spartanburg
Allendale Cherokee Greenville Marlboro Sumter
Anderson Colleton Greenwood Marion Union
Bamberg Clarendon Hampton McCormick York
Barnwell Darlington Horry Newberry Williamsburg
Beaufort Dillon Jasper Oconee  
Berkeley Dorchester Kershaw Orangeburg  
Calhoun Edgefield Lancaster Pickens  
Charleston Fairfield Laurens Richland  

All counties use an optical scan voting method for all mail-out absentee ballots.

Optical Scan

All 46 South Carolina counties use optical scan ballots for all mail-out absentee ballots.The voter receives an 8 «" x 14" paper ballot. The voter shades in a block beside the name of the party, candidate or issue in which he/she wishes to vote using a marking pen or pencil.

Separator bar

Back to the SC State Election Commission Home Page