FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 6, 2009
PRESCRIBED BURNING CERTIFICATION CLASS OFFERED BY SC FORESTRY COMMISSION
(Columbia,SC)–-Land managers who conduct outdoor burning can reduce their liability by becoming Certified Prescribed Fire Managers. Training sessions are scheduled in Moncks Corner on December 16th, 2009 and in Columbia on October 20th, 2009 and January 23, 2010.
Conducted by the South Carolina Forestry Commission, the one-day course teaches how to plan prescribed burns that comply with state air quality regulations. The regulations, called Smoke Management Guidelines, are mandatory for all forestry, wildlife, and agriculture burning in South Carolina.
Forestry Commission Training Director Leslie Woodham emphasized that this is not a beginner’s course in prescribed burning. “This is advanced training in smoke management and associated legal issues,” he said.
Achieving certification provides burners with limited liability protection under state law. Requirements include passing a written test, documenting one’s burning experience, and agreeing to conduct all burning according to standards set forth in the SC Prescribed Fire Act.
To register for any session, contact Leslie Woodham at (803) 896-8809. The cost of the course is $15; applications are processed on a first come, first served basis. The deadline for registration is three weeks prior to the course.
Editors/News Directors: For more information, contact: Leslie Woodham, 803-896-8809.
The SC Forestry Commission’s mission is to protect and develop South Carolina’s forest resource. For every $1.00 invested by SC in the Commission, the industry produces more than $1,000.00 of economic impact.