SC Department of Mental Health News Release

S.C. Mental Health Commission Chair Receives
Order of the Palmetto


Contact:  John Hutto (803) 898-8581

Columbia, SC,  November 24, 1998 ... Mrs. Elizabeth L. Forrester, chair of the South Carolina Mental Health Commission, received the Order of the Palmetto Tuesday, Nov. 24, at the State House in Columbia.

Forrester, a native of Georgetown, was appointed by the governor to serve on the Mental Health Commission in November 1990.

She has been an active member of civic and advocacy organizations including the Coastal South Carolina Chapter of the Alliance for the Mentally Ill, the Georgetown Planning and Zoning Council, the American Cancer Society Board and the Georgetown County Mental Health Commission.  She also served on the Team Advocacy Project of Protection and Advocacy for People with Disabilities.

The Order of the Palmetto was established by Gov. John West in 1970 as a way that the Governor of the state could distinguish  individual citizens for outstanding service or friends to the state.  It is the highest honor that can be bestowed upon an individual, and is given solely at the discretion of the Governor.

The South Carolina Department of Mental Health has served the mental health needs of South Carolina citizens since 1821.  Its 6,000 employees and 8,000 volunteers offer services from 17 community mental centers and six inpatient hospitals statewide.

Home Page| Site Map| Search the Site| Comments|