SC Department of Mental Health News Release

May 28, 2002
For Immediate Release
Contact: John Hutto, Director of Communications


SCDMH Names Director of Waccamaw Center for Mental Health

Columbia, SC - State Mental Health Director George P. Gintoli announces that Murry Chesson has been named executive director of the Waccamaw Center for Mental Health, effective May 14, 2002.

A native of North Carolina, Chesson has been employed with the Department of Mental Health since 1979, serving in the positions of psychologist and program director.  He has served as assistant director at Waccamaw since 1991 and as interim director since August 2001.

Chesson received his master's degree in Clinical Psychology from East Carolina University in Greenville, NC.

Waccamaw Center for Mental Health serves the citizens of Horry, Georgetown and Williamsburg counties.

The South Carolina Department of Mental Health has been serving the mental health needs of South Carolinians since 1821.  Its 5,500 employees and 8,000 volunteers offer services from 17 community mental health centers and seven inpatient hospitals statewide.

Office of Communications
P.O. Box 485 Columbia, SC 29202
(803) 898--8581

Home Page| Site Map| Search the Site| Comments