SC Department of Mental Health News Release

Two New Members Appointed to Mental Health Commission

Contact:  John Hutto (803) 898-8584

Columbia, S.C., May 25, 2000 ... George C. Wilson, D.Min., of Donalds, S.C., and C. Diane Smock of Greenville, S.C., have been appointed as members of the S.C. Mental Health Commission.

Wilson, a native of Charlotte, received his bachelor's degree from the University of Hawaii in 1973 and his Doctor of Ministry from Union Theological Seminary in 1983.

Prior to this appointment, Wilson served on the Beckman Center board of directors from 1990 to 1998 and was board chair from 1993 to 1995.  He is currently pastor of Greenville Presbyterian Church.

Smock received her bachelor's degree from the University of Georgia in 1974 and her juris doctor degree from the University of Virginia School of Law in 1979.  A former probate judge of Greenville County, Smock is an attorney practicing in Greenville.

The S.C. Mental Health Commission is the governing body of the S.C. Department of Mental Health and has jurisdiction over the state's 17 mental health centers and seven inpatient hospitals.  Its seven members are appointed for five-year terms by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate.

Office of Communications
P.O. Box 485
Columbia, SC 29202
(803) 898-8581

Home Page| Site Map| Search the Site| Comments