SC Department of Mental Health News Release

South Carolina Department of Mental Health
2414 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29202


June 28, 2004
For Immediate Release
Contact: John Hutto, Director of Communications
              (w) 803-898-8584
              (p) 803-929-8668

New Members Appointed to SC Mental Health Commission

Columbia, SC:  Alison Y. Evans, Psy.D., Jane B. Jones, and Joan Moore have been appointed to serve as members of the South Carolina Mental Health Commission.

Dr. Evans is a licensed professional counselor. She received her bachelorís degree from Trevecca Nazarene University, Nashville, her masterís degree from Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, and her doctor of psychology degree from California Coast University. She has been a member of the Mental Health Association of South Carolina since 1994, and was chairman of the Board. She is also a member of the Mental Health Association of Darlington County, serving since 1986. She is a member of numerous organizations and has received many distinguished service awards. She and her husband, Dr. Kenneth Evans, live in Hartsville, SC.

Ms. Jones received her bachelorís degree from Winthrop University. She has served on the Board of Trustees and the Council of Ministries at Bethesda United Methodist Church. She and her husband, Charles, live in Easley, SC.

Ms. Moore received her continuing education certificate from Trident Technical College in Charleston. She is a member of numerous civic and service organizations, having served as president for the Berkeley County Republican Women. She and her husband, B.W., live in Goose Creek, SC.

The SC Mental Health Commission is the governing body of the SC Department of Mental Health and has jurisdiction over the stateís 17 mental health centers, five hospitals, and two nursing care centers. Its seven members are appointed for five-year terms by the governor with advice and consent of the Senate.

 Home Page| Site Map| Search the Site| Comments|