SC Department of Mental Health News Release

For Immediate Release
June 10, 2002
Contact: John Hutto, Director of Communications

S.C. Mental Health Commission Elects Officers

Columbia, SC - Douglas F. Gay, a resident of Rock Hill, was re-elected chairman of the S.C. Mental Health Commission at the commission's July 9 meeting. Gay was appointed by the governor to serve on the commission in May 1995.

Gay, who received his J.D. from the University of South Carolina School of Law, is an attorney in Rock Hill. He served on the Catawba Community Mental Health Center Board in Rock Hill from 1990 until 1995.

Anna Dozier-Kelly, a resident of Georgetown, was re-elected vice-chairman of the commission. She was appointed by the governor to serve on the commission in March 2000.

Dozier-Kelly received her bachelor's degree from Allen University and her master's degree from S.C. State College. Prior to her appointment on the commission, she served as chairperson for the Waccamaw Center for Mental Health Board, Conway, S.C.

The South Carolina Mental Health Commission is the governing body of the SC Department of Mental Health and has jurisdiction over the state's 17 mental health centers, five hospitals, and two nursing care centers. Its seven members are appointed for five-year terms by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate..

Home Page| Site Map| Search the Site| Comments|