SC Department of Mental Health News Release

January 14, 2005
For Immediate Release

Contact:          John H. Hutto, Director of Public Affairs
                        (w) 803-898-8584
                        (p) 803-929-8668

Mason Named Deputy Director, Division of Community Care Systems

 Columbia, SC:  Geoffrey J. Mason has been named deputy director, Division of Community Care Systems for the SC Department of Mental Health, effective January 2, 2005.

In this role, Mr. Mason will direct the operations of the 17 community mental health centers, two psychiatric hospitals and two nursing homes.

Mr. Mason received his bachelor of arts degree in English and government from the University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia in 1973, and his masterís degree in Public Administration from the University of South Carolina in 1981.

He has been with the Department of Mental Health since July 1994, serving as executive assistant to the state director and as chief of staff for the Department of Mental Health.

The South Carolina Department of Mental Health is an integrated system of care offering an array of programs and services to meet the behavioral health needs of adults, children and adolescents, and their families. The SCDMH operates seventeen community mental health centers around the state as well as two psychiatric hospitals and two nursing homes.

Home Page| Site Map| Search the Site| Comments|