SC Department of Mental Health

August 28, 2003
For Immediate Release
Contact: John Hutto, Director of Communications

              (w) 803-898-8584
              (p) 803-929-8668


Santee-Wateree  Community Mental Health Center Names New Executive Director

Columbia, SC:  Officials at the South Carolina Department of Mental Health (SCDMH) and the board of the Santee-Wateree Community Mental Health Center announced today that Sharon Johnson has been named executive director of the mental health center. Ms. Johnson is currently vice president of Clinical Operations for Touchstone innovare’, a private non-profit provider of mental health services for 2,300 seriously and persistently mentally ill adults in Kent County, Michigan.

State Mental Health Director George Gintoli said,  “Ms. Johnson has over 18 years experience in the mental health field. She will be a tremendous asset to the Center and to the Department of Mental Health.”

Ms. Johnson received her master’s degree in Clinical Psychology from Central Michigan University, Mt. Pleasant.

The South Carolina Department of Mental Health provides services through a network of 17 community mental health centers, five hospitals, and two nursing care centers.

Home Page| Site Map| Search the Site| Comments