SC Department of Mental Health News Release


Department of Mental Health Employee Elected President of the American College of Mental Health Administration


Contact: John Hutto (803) 898-8584

Columbia, S.C., April 16, 1999... John A. Morris, M.S.W., director of Interdisciplinary Affairs of the S.C. Department of Mental Health's Division of Education, Training and Research, was elected to a two-year term as president of the American College of Mental Health Administration (ACMHA).  The election took place at the ACMHA's recent meeting   in Santa Fe, NM.

Morris, a professor in the Department of Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Science, has been with the Department of Mental Health for 30 years.  He received his Master's degree in social work from Washington University.

ACMHA is a nonprofit corporation headed by an executive board and managed by a professional association management firm.  A select group of outstanding mental health and substance abuse administrators, policy makers and consumer leaders make up the membership of the College.

The S.C. Department of Mental Health has served the mental health needs of South Carolina citizens since 1821.  It's 6,000 employees and 8,000 volunteers offer services from 17 community mental health centers and six inpatient hospitals statewide.

Home Page| Site Map| Search the Site| Comments