South Carolina Department of Mental Health

South Carolina Department of Mental Health
2414 Bull Street/P.O. Box 485, Columbia, SC 29202


October 10, 2012

Contact:   DMH Office of Public Affairs
                  Phone: (803) 898-8581


Cardwell Appointed to SC Mental Health Commission

Columbia, SC: Beverly F. Cardwell, of Rock Hill, SC, has been appointed to serve as a member of the South Carolina Mental Health Commission representing South Carolina's Fifth Congressional district.

Cardwell, a native of Kings Mountain, North Carolina, served as a member of the Catawba Community Mental Health Center Board from 2000 until 2012, and has also served as Board Chair for the South Carolina Piedmont Tri-County Affiliate of the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI). As a national speaker and NAMI crisis responder, she provides support and education on the subject of mental illness. Having assisted all members of her immediate family in their recovery, Cardwell knows the challenges associated with working toward recovery and providing support to people who live with mental illness. She received her business degree from Evans Business College, Gastonia, NC.

The SC Mental Health Commission is the governing body of the SC Department of Mental Health and has jurisdiction over the state's public mental health system. Its seven members are appointed for five-year terms by the governor with advice and consent of the Senate.

The South Carolina Department of Mental Health's mission is to support the recovery of people with mental illnesses, giving priority to adults with serious and persistent mental illness and to children and adolescents with serious emotional disturbances. The Agency serves approximately 100,000 citizens, including over 30,000 children and adolescents and provides outpatient services through a network of seventeen community mental health centers and numerous clinics. The Agency also operates four hospitals, one community nursing care center, and three veterans' nursing homes.