South Carolina Department of Mental Health

S.C. Mental Health Commission Members

Updated 3/8/18

The SC Mental Health Commission is the governing body of the SC Department of Mental Health and has jurisdiction over the state's public mental health system. Its seven members are appointed for five-year terms by the governor with advice and consent of the Senate.


Alison Y. Evans, Psy.D. , Chair

Dr. Evans is a licensed professional counselor. She received her bachelor's degree from Trevecca Nazarene University, Nashville, her master's degree from Middle Tennessee State University, Murfreesboro, and her doctor of psychology degree from California Coast University. She has been a member of the Mental Health Association of South Carolina since 1994, and was chairman of the Board. She is also a member of the Mental Health Association of Darlington County, serving since 1986. She is a member of numerous organizations and has received many distinguished service awards. She and her husband, Dr. Kenneth Evans, live in Hartsville, SC.

Louise Haynes

Ms. Haynes is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC). Since 2002, she has served as a liaison between academic research and community treatment programs. In addition to her research experience, Ms. Haynes has worked in clinical and administrative roles in South Carolina. She was Director of Women’s Services for the S.C. Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS) and was Director of Morris Village Alcohol and Drug Addiction Treatment Center operated by the S.C. Department of Mental Health. Ms. Haynes joined the South Carolina Mental Health Commission in 2016.

Robert E. Hiott, Jr.

Hiott brings to the Commission an extensive background in substance abuse treatment programming and behavioral health management services. He is executive director of the Pickens County Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse, DBA Behavioral Services of Pickens County, a position he has held since 2007. In his previous role as deputy director of the Pickens County Commission, Hiott was responsible for planning, organizing, and directing behavioral treatment, prevention, and research programs, and supervised a staff of both professional and technical employees. He began his tenure with the organization in 1986.

Hiott received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Central Wesleyan College and a Master of Education in Counseling and Guidance from Clemson University. He is a member of the South Carolina Behavioral Health Services Association and serves on its Treatment Services Committee. In addition, he is a member of the Pickens County Prescription Drug Abuse Alliance.


Sharon L. Wilson, FACHE, CEAP

Sharon L. Wilson, FACHE, CEAP, of Piedmont, SC, serves as director of Behavioral Health Operations at Greenville Hospital Systems, where she has worked for 18 years. The Pittsburgh native has also worked in community mental health centers in Pennsylvania and Virginia. Wilson received her bachelor’s degree in Psychology from Indiana University of Pennsylvania, and a master’s degree in Management from Webster University. She has received her Certification in Employee Assistance Programs (CEAP) and is a Fellow in the American College of Health Care Executives (FACHE).